top of page

FIRST FEW WEEKS IN LUND

My first week consisted of mostly running errands and completing important tasks - getting a SIM card, figuring out how to use the transportation app (I take the bus literally everywhere), figuring out where to get food, etc... There were also orientation-week activities that were taking place throughout the first two weeks. I tried to attend as many of these as I could so that I could meet other international students.


August 21 - August 25

During my first week in Lund, I visited the Lund Cathedral, the University building, and the Botanical Gardens in Lund. I also met up with Briana. Briana did the same exchange program two years ago and now lives in Lund with her boyfriend! Bri was so helpful and provided me with some great advice from her time as an exchange student. This was the first time where I really felt like I connected with someone in Lund, so it was just amazing to get lunch with Briana.


Every international exchange student gets placed into Mentor groups which are a great way to meet new people and get involved in the first few weeks. I joined my mentor group for a little burger cafe at a Nation one evening and ended up having an amazing time and got to meet some really cool people from literally all over Europe. I also met two girls from Canada (North Americans unite amirite) - they were so sweet! Later in the week, I attended a "Sports and Games Day" organized by the University. Basically, mentor groups competed against each other in random games. It reminded me a lot of the Field Days I used to have in elementary school.


A few of the people in my mentor group planned a little day trip to Lomma Beach during the weekend and I decided to tag along. It's honestly really scary going to events where you don't really know anyone, so I was really proud of myself for actually going. I had so much fun at Lomma Beach - and the weather was just perfect while we were there. Later this day, I signed up for a Pub Crawl in Copenhagen!


August 25 - August 31

To start off my second week in Lund, I moved into my new apartment! Honestly, after moving into my apartment, everything else seemed to fall into place. The next few days just consisted of me organizing my room and exploring Lund.


I finally met up with Nina, a true local (she was born just outside of Lund). I was introduced to her through Hannah, who did the same exchange program last year. She was so sweet and it was so nice to meet her (I had been in touch with her over the summer). I also met up with the two Canadian girls that I had met through my mentor group (Meaghan and Shaz) and we ended up having dinner together.


On August 29th, I went to Copenhagen for the day! I had signed up through ESN Lund along with 50 other students- basically we were going to be given a tour of the city and then taken to a number of pubs around Copenhagen to end the day! I honestly had the best time in Copenhagen. I also met someone from Portland, OR who happened to be an exchange student from UC Santa Clara. It was honestly so random but I ended up hanging out with her and one of her friends the entire night. It was a struggle getting back after the Pub Crawl but we finally ended up in Lund around 5:30am!


I met up with Meaghan again for dinner later in the week and also went to Nova Shopping Mall to get some Polaroid film for my camera (which was a struggle to find!).




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page