top of page

PARIS, FRANCE

Updated: Oct 5, 2019

September 15 - September 18

I had been waiting for this week literally since I got to Lund. My boyfriend was coming to visit on the 17th!! I had class during the time that his flight landed at CPH on Tuesday so I was bummed that I couldn't go pick him up but I had hoped to meet him at Lund C once he got here. Unfortunately, my class went longer than expected and he arrived before I could even get to Lund C. Nonetheless, he had finally made it to Sweden!!


Later that evening, we got dinner at Ved (and tried the BEST pizza I've had in Lund). After dinner, we went to Cate's Wine & Cheese Night which ended up being super fun! We left around 11:30pm hoping to catch the last bus back to my house. Unfortunately, we BARELY missed the bus - but I thought "no worries, we can just catch a different bus." But turns out we were standing on the wrong side of the street so we missed the other bus too -_-. Now we were actually stranded (one of the few times in Lund where I wish I had gotten a bike) so we had no other option than to make the 50 minute walk back to Linero. Luckily, we walked past a taxi that slowed down for us so we hopped in and finally got back to my place. I was seriously dreading the walk back so I was just thankful to have made it to my bed.


The next morning, my boyfriend and I finished some packing since our flight was leaving later that day. We went to Love Coffee and then walked around Lund, before grabbing some lunch and heading back to finish up some last minute packing before we headed to the airport! We finally arrived in Paris and made it to our hotel around midnight on the 18th.


Thursday, September 19

We left early this morning to get to the city center, it was about an hour train ride. We first visited Arc de Triomphe and then walked down Avenue des Champs-Élysées. We stopped for some macaroons and coffee before heading down to the Tuileries Garden where we walked around for a bit. Afterwards, we went to the Louvre!! It was honestly so amazing - I think my favorite part of it was the "Winged Victory" sculpture. We only spent a few hours here but we were both so exhausted. Our plan for the rest of the evening was just to sit by the Seine River and have a picnic while watching the sunset. We decided to grab some snacks and wine but trying to find a store that actually had what we were looking for was a STRUGGLE. We walked for what felt like miles and miles before finally finding a grocery store where we gathered all of our supplies and headed to the river. All the walking was so worth it because this ended up being the most perfect evening (probably my favorite part of the entire trip). Afterwards, we got some Creme Brûlée and Chocolate Fondant for dessert at a nearby restaurant and headed back to our hotel.


Friday, September 20

On this day, we visited the Luxembourg Gardens and then got some lunch at a restaurant near Notre Dame where we had the BEST cheese dish. During lunch, we realized that we totally lost track of time and missed a tour we had planned of the Latin Quarters - luckily we were able to sign up for one the next day (which we didn't actually end up going to). After lunch, we walked around for a bit and saw the Notre Dame under restoration.

We were supposed to head towards the Eiffel Tower later this day but we accidentally got on the wrong train and ended up on the other side of Paris. After a slight delay, we finally made our way to the Eiffel Tower and hung out there for a bit before going to dinner at an Italian restaurant nearby. After dinner, we walked towards the Eiffel Tower since it was all lit up and also tried to find some dessert (which was surprisingly more difficult than we anticipated). We got some Flan and Tiramisu for dessert and then called it a day.


Saturday, September 21

By day 3, I was honestly so exhausted - we had done so much walking in the first two days. To start the day off, we went to a really cute cafè near our hotel and ordered some French Toast and coffee. Despite asking the server many times if we can get the French Toast without any nuts, there ended up being pecans in the sauce they poured all over the toast (I'm allergic!). Luckily, I only had a few bites before the server came back to tell us that there are actually pecans in the dish. We freaked out a bit, so we went to the pharmacy just down the street to ask if they had Benadryl - they didn't. But the Pharmacist was able to offer me mild allergy medication so I took some just to tone down the effects of the allergic reaction. I think it did actually help because I was feeling better within an hour or so!


We arrived in Montmarte around 11am, just in time for tour that we had signed up for! We learned about the historical artistic significance of Montmarte - I actually really enjoyed the tour! It ended at Sacré-Cœur where we had an amazing view of Paris. Afterwards, we tried to find lunch somewhere nearby but walked way too long before finally finding a restaurant that we both agreed on. After lunch, we tried to go to Galeries Lafayette but Google Maps took us to some random church in the middle of Paris - which was actually just hilarious. Turns out we were really close to Palais de Chaillot, the perfect place to take some pictures with the Eiffel Tower! After a solid mini photoshoot, we finally made our way to Galeries Lafayette (the actual location). We had some Fika inside, to take a break from all the shopping that we were (not) doing. After deciding we needed a little break, we headed back to our hotel. For dinner, we went to Ippudo and had the most amazing Hirata buns. After dinner, we went back to Montmarte, grabbed some wine and dessert, and found a spot on the steps of Sacré-Cœur. It was literally the most perfect night because at midnight, we coincidentally celebrated our 1 year, 11 month anniversary in Paris!


Sunday, September 22

We started off our Sunday with some brunch at a restaurant called Clint. It was literally the most amazing brunch place I've been to (big brunch fan). Unfortunately, it started raining as we left the restaurant. We got soaked on our way to the metro so we decided to just stop by our hotel to dry off. It started pouring even harder once we got back to the hotel and so we just stayed inside until the rain passed over. Luckily, it didn't rain for too long and by 2pm we were on our way to Versailles! We definitely needed some caffeine after the train ride so we went to this really cute cafe once we arrived. After refueling with some coffee, we walked over to the Palace of Versailles and got some tickets to go inside. It was so beautiful!! We walked around Versailles for a bit before getting some dinner and heading back to Paris. Once we got back, we grabbed some dessert and walked over to the Pont des Arts for our last night in Paris.


Monday, September 23

We left for the airport early Monday morning to catch our flight back to Copenhagen. Around 2pm, we were back in Lund. It was definitely a lazy day - we just watched some T.V. and had some dumplings for dinner.


Tuesday, September 24

My boyfriend flew back to Portland and I had to go back to class on this day :(


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

(Finally) Adjusting to Life in Lund

As I reach the halfway point of my study abroad experience, I think I can finally say that I've settled into my life here. But still, there are some major differences between living in Corvallis and i

Copenhagen

After a week of catching up on school work, I really wanted to get out of Lund for a bit so Meaghan and I decided to go to Copenhagen for a day. We left pretty early in the morning and took the 40 min

bottom of page